3rd Annual Music City Grandprix

3rd Annual Music City Grandprix

100_0880It was a beautiful day in the Music City for the 3rd annual Music City Grand Prix at the historic Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway. The days events started off with the Kid Kart class where Bryce Sanders barely edged out a win over Walker Porter with the Newell brothers, James and Samuel finishing third and fourth with Austin Ulish in 5th, out of 8 entries. Walker Porter won his second straight points championship.

100_0918The Clone Jr. Sportsman class was next with Oliver Cordell, fresh off his TN dirt Championship season came over to try the asphalt road course for the first time. Oliver was able to score the win and collect the prize guitar in his first attempt with Champ Webb finishing second and Ryan chance finishing third. Lucas Leidig and forth and Brandon O’Connor in 5th.

In the LO206 Jr. Sportsman class, multiple time, WKA champion, Tanner Carter made the trip from Georgia and was able to take advantage of an early spin by Kevin Lanyi to collect the win and take home a guitar. Lanyi recovered to finish second with Ty Porter in third. Bryson Morris finished fourth with Jasten Treece rounding out the top five. Kevin Lanyi was able to win the championship by the narrowest of margins over defending champion, Ty Porter.

LO206 Jr. Pro was on track next where Max Porter won the race and the championship in fashion. Tanner Carter also ran the Pro Class and finished second with Elijah Skaggs finishing third.
The Shifter class once again saw double-digit entries and had Chad Lee out front being pursued closely by Jason Brown. Midway through the race, Lee clipped a cone and bent a tie rod relinquishing the lead to Brown. Jason Brown put his DR chassis in victory lane to collect his second Music City Grand Prix win in a row. Miles Quirk finished second and Preston Quirk finished third. Chad Lee was able to limp home in 7th position and win his third championship in a row.

100_0866Next up was the LO206 Raptor spec class with 18 entries. Shawn Harding won the heat race with Jerry Langston in 2nd setting up a 12 lap dash to determine who would be the 2015 points champion. In the feature, Harding jumped out to a lead followed by Dan Newell and Langston. On lap number 8, Langston was able to get by Newell and start reeling in Harding. When the white flag came out, the two were nose to tail. Coming off the last turn, Langston climbed the hill and got a massive run and was able to beat Harding to the line by 6 inches to claim his first Music City Grand Prix win and win the championship. Multiple time WKA Gold Cup winner, Dustin Demattia, made the trip all the way from Ohio and finished a strong third after starting dead last in the feature after problems in the heat. Newell finished fourth and Stan Wilson finished a strong 5th place finish in his first start.

100_0874The LO206 Sr. class was next where Joseph Skaggs was able to get the win over his brother Matt Skaggs after the two swapped the lead several times ahead of the 14 kart feild. Dustin Demattia once again finished a strong third with Steven Kilsdonk in fourth followed by Tony Wilson. Matt Skaggs was able to collect the points championship over Joseph Skaggs and Tony Wilson.

Next up was the Oval classes starting off with Clone Pro Medium. David Baker and Blake Ownby put on a great race swapping a lead back and forth with Baker able to end up on top winning the race and the championship. Kyle Cordell finished a strong third in the 8 kart field.

100_0869Clone Heavy was next and David Baker took home his second win and gutair on the day in the 8 kart feild. Jeremy Payton was unable to attend the race but still had enough points to win the Clone Heavy championship.
Jon Proctor got back to his winning ways by taking home the win in the Champ Kart division with Mike Curran in second and Derrick Chenault in 3rd. Curran was able to win the Championship with his 2nd place finish.
The Pro Mix class saw 7 karts take the green flag with Kevin Rollins getting the win followed by Kyle Smithson in 2nd and David Cook in 3rd. Kyle Smithson collected the Championship for the second year in a row.

LO206 Oval was next with Joe Davidson getting the win and also picking up the 2015 championship. Walter Anderson finished a strong second with Jon Proctor in 3rd.

The (2) big track, 5/8 mile, exhibition races saw Jerry Duffle win in LO206 and Kevin Rollins get his 2nd gutair of the day in the Clone class.

This completed the 5th season of the SEKA/AmpedUp Racing Series and We want to thank everyone for being a part of our racing family. Hopefully We can continue to put on great races and have a good time with family and friends. Looking forward to a great time fellowshipping with everyone at the banquet and looking back at the Year in Review. Matt Skaggs and Mike Curran

(Visited 268 times, 1 visits today)